May 3 2016

PHOTOS: BCAT's 2016 Annual Meeting & Appreciation Awards

By: Rich Hosford

We at BCAT held our 2016 Annual Meeting & Appreciation Awards ceremony at Heritage Park Baptist Church on Monday night. 

A large crowd came out to support the volunteers up for awards, hear about the last year at BCAT and dine on food provided by a variety of Burlington restaurants. 


Board President Brad Bond started the ceremony with an update on what’s new at BCAT. He told the audience about our new control room and studio camera setup that allows us to tape and broadcast all of our shows in high definition. He also talked about the upgrades to the van, which include a new paint job and a portable studio for field productions. He also made mention of our growing social media followers and the fact we are now on InstaGram (Bcattv) and we posted our first photo right from the stage. 


CLICK HERE to see a photo gallery of the event. 




Congratulations to this year's Appreciation Award winners:



Lifetime Achievement Award

Virgina Mooney


 Volunteer of the Year

James Hurley



 Producer of Excellence - Studio Production

“Burlington & Beyond”


Also nominated:

Linda McNamee - "Something to Talk About"

James Hurley - "James House of Rock"



Producer of Excellence - Community Affairs - Studio Produced

Ken Gordon - “Rappin' with the Rep"


Also nominated:

Jim Murphy - "Chamber Chat"

John Petrin - "Town Administrator's Corner"


Producer of Excellence - Field Produced Series

Julie Eggleston & Heidi Mover - “Burlington Blooms”


Also nominated:

Marge McDonald - "COA Activities"

John Middleton-Cox - "Burlington Performs"


Director of Excellence in the Studio

 Marianne Girouard“Burlington & Beyond”


Also nominated:

James Hurley "BNEWS Weekly"

Colleen Moore - "Something to Talk About"


Post-Production Editing Excellence

Chris Flaherty – "Disney Store Opening”


Also nominated:

James Hurley & Bob Krieg - "PTSD: Demystify""

Walter Belanger - "BHSA Goes to the Circus"


On-Camera Talent Excellence

Meteorologist Peter Brown - "BNEWS Weather”


Also nominated:

Jack Ferren - "BCSF Telethon"

Alan Foulds - "BCAT Election Specials"


Excellence in Sports Announcing

Phil Arcaro - BHS Ice Hockey


Also nominated:

Jack Sherman - BHS Wrestling

Joe Viscione & Nick Buongiorno - BHS Soccer


Public Service Announcement (PSA) Excellence

John Tuccinardi - "Friday Night Fights”


Also nominated:

Lori Hodgson - "Library PSAs"

Ruth Yannetti, Heidi Mover & Julie Eggleston - "Language of Flowers"



Studio Camera Excellence

Jolie Atwood


Also nominated:

Joan Kennedy-Constant - "Bulringotn & Beyond"

Gia Vento - "BCSF Telethon"



Field Camera Excellence

Allan Watson


Also nominated:

Mike Shipka - "Relay for Life Dancing with the Stars"

Brandon Gordon - "Temple Shalom Emeth"


News Rpeorting Excellence

Robert Parris


Also nominated:

Josiah Perez

Jim Murphy


Producer of Excellence - Production Short

Shelly Sloboder - "Read It”


Also nominated:

Madi Shipka & James Hurley - "Beautiful Burlington: BHS Campus"

Jenn Scheffer - "TEDxYouth@BHS"



Producer of Excellence for a New Series

Marge McDonald - "Telling Your Story”


Also nominated:

Maithreyi Shankar - "Coffee, Chia & Convo with Youth"

BHS TV - "Speak of the Devils"



Producer of Excellence for BHS TV Project

Nick Karwan, Flynn Reardon & Josh Everett - "Dancing in the Work Room”


Enthusiastic Newcomer

Joan Kennedy-Constant


Also nominated:

Josh Coughlin

Sandra Voltero

Producer Excellence for a Special

Bob Kreig - "PTSD: Demystified"



Producer of Excellence of a Preformance

Michael Sserunjoji - "Watoto Children's Choir"


Viewers Choice Award - Series

"Burlington & Beyond”


Viewers Choice Award - BCAT Special

Maureen Spencer & Caryn Baker - "Taste of Burlington

Congratulations to ALL our winners.  We are already looking forward to next year!

Web Design by Polar Design