January 5 2016

School Committee Seat Challenged, Most Others Currently Unopposed

By: Rich Hosford

Candidates have begun to submit paperwork for the 2016 Burlington Town Election and a couple of seats, including on the School Committee, are already contested. 

According to a release from Town Clerk Amy Warfield, there are two three-year seats up for election on the School Committee this year. Incumbents Christine Monaco and Thomas Murphy have both put in the paperwork to run for re-election. Newcomer Karen Lavi has also gotten her name on the ballot. 

In other races there are two seats on the Board of Selectmen up for contest. So far only incumbent Christopher Hartling and Robert Hogan have turned in paperwork. Town Moderator Sally Willard is so far the only person up for that seat and Town Clerk Amy Warfield is the only person who has submitted paperwork for that position. 

Another race that is already contested is for the two three-year seats for Constable. Incumbents William Pepicelli and Anthony Saia have turned in paperwork as has Dennis Otis. 

So far races for Assessor, Treasurer/Collector Board of Health and Town Meeting seats are uncontested. 

If you’d like to get involved papers can be taken out at the Town Clerk’s office in Town Hall. Nomination papers must be taken out by February 18th at 5 p.m. To be placed on the ballot you will need to get signatures from Burlington registered voters by the deadline which is February 22.  The Town election is April 9 at the Burlington High School Gym. 


Here’s the full list of open seats: 

Town wide seats: 


Town Clerk (5 yr) (1 seat)


Moderator (1 yr) (1 seat)


Selectmen (3 yr) (2 seats)


Assessor (3 yr) (1 seat)


Treasurer/Collector (3 yr) (1 seat)


School Committee (3 yr) (2 seats)


Library Trustees (3 yr) (2 seats)


Planning Board (5 yr) (1 seat)


Board of Health (3 yr) (2 seats)


Constable (3 yr) (2 seats)


Housing Authority (5 yr) (1 seat)


Recreation Commission (3 yr) (1 seat)


Town Meeting seats: 


Precinct 1 TMM (3 yr) (6 seats)


Precinct 1 TMM (2 yr) (1 seat)*


Precinct 2 TMM (3 yr) (6 seats)


Precinct 2 TMM (2 yr) (2 seats)*


Precinct 3 TMM (3 yr) (6 seats)


Precinct 4 TMM (3 yr) (6 seats)


Precinct 5 TMM (3 yr) (6 seats)


Precinct 6 TMM (3 yr) (6 seats)


Precinct 7 TMM (3 yr) (6 seats)


Precinct 7 TMM (2 yr) (1 seat)*


*filling seats appointed during the year



Web Design by Polar Design