February 22 2016

Deadline to Turn in Papers Has Passed, Field of Candidates Known for Burlington Town Election

By: Rich Hosford

The deadline for potential candidates to turn in their paperwork to get in the ballot has passed and we now know who is officially running in the Burlington Town Election. 


There are a number of contested races, though some incumbents will go unchallenged. 


According to information from the Town Clerk Amy Warfield's office, in the Board of Selectmen race for two seats, incumbents Christopher Hartling and Robert Hogan will be challenged by former board member Virginia Mooney. 


There are two seats up for election on the School Committee. In that race incumbents Christine Monaco and Thomas Murphy are being challenged by newcomers Karen Lavi and David Leavitt. A third potential challenger did not turn in the paperwork by the deadline. 

Town Moderator Sally Willard is being challenged by Teresa Tarpey Clement. 


In the race for Library Trustees there are two open seats and incumbent Steven Wasserman will be on the ballot, as will newcomers Robert Neufeld and Ram Voruganti. In the Constable race, incumbents William Pepicelli and Anthony Saia have turned in paperwork as has Dennis Otis. 


Going unchallenged are Town Clerk Amy Warfield, Board of Assessor member Catherine O’Neil, Planning Board member Joseph Impemba, Board of Health members Wayne Saltsman and Edward Weiner, Housing Authority member Bernice Ferguson and Recreation Commission member Kristine Brown. 


There are also some contested Town Meeting races. 


In Precinct 1 there are eight challengers for six seats. Incumbents Bradford Bond, John Glyn III, Gregory Ryan and Maureen Monaco Ryan have turned in papers, as have Sandra Madigan, Brenda Rappaport, Robert Sears and Ram Voruganti. 


In Precinct 3 there are seven challengers for six seats, including incumbents Sean Connors, Shary Lynn Ellis, Faydeen Sateriale and Paul Valleli, along with newcomers Monica Faiella, Jon Mancini and Ismael Valentin. 


Precinct 5 likewise has seven people on the ballot and six seats up for election. Incumbents Joseph Calandrelli, Adrienne Gerbrands, Mary Ellen Osowski and Larry Way are being joined on the ballot by Robert Bunker II, Lawrence Gelberg and Kelly Pappas. 


Precinct 6 is the most hotly contested with nine candidates for six seats. The incumbents are Teresa Tarpey Clement, Daniel Ditucci Jr., Jaclyn Killilea, Thomas Killilea, David Peterson and Roberty Schlansky. The new names are Sean Curtin, Michael Kelly and Adam Tigges. 


As we get into the election season we want to hear from you. Email your Letters to the Editor to news@bcattv.org

Web Design by Polar Design