January 25 2016

School Committee Race Now Up to Five Contestants

By: Rich Hosford

The race for two School Committee seats is heating up. 


According to a release from Town Clerk Amy Warfield, there are two three-year seats up for election on the School Committee this year. Incumbents Christine Monaco and Thomas Murphy have both put in the paperwork to run for re-election. In addition three others: Karen Lavi, David Leavitt and Maithreyi Shankar have turned in papers. 


There is also a contested race for the Board of Selectmen with Virginia Mooney challenging incumbents Bob Hogan and Chris Hartling. 

In other races Town Moderator Sally Willard is so far the only person up for that seat and Town Clerk Amy Warfield is the only person who has submitted paperwork for that position. 

Another race that is already contested is for the two three-year seats for Constable. Incumbents William Pepicelli and Anthony Saia have turned in paperwork as has Dennis Otis. 

So far races for Assessor, Treasurer/Collector Board of Health and Town Meeting seats are uncontested. 

If you’d like to get involved papers can be taken out at the Town Clerk’s office in Town Hall. Nomination papers must be taken out by February 18th at 5 p.m. To be placed on the ballot you will need to get signatures from Burlington registered voters by the deadline which is February 22.  The Town election is April 9 at the Burlington High School Gym. 


As we get into the election season we want to hear from you. Email your Letters to the Editor to news@bcattv.org

Web Design by Polar Design